The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

My Favorite Place

2 Comments

libo

The monastery library, The Name of the Rose, Umberto Eco

We’ll never get tired of the library-as-maze metaphor: it’s just so satisfying on both metaphorical and literal levels. Eco’s secret, labyrinthine library, though set in the real world of a 14th century monastery, is based on Borges’s Library of Babel — after all, its blind librarian is called Jorge from Burgos. “It was then the place of a long, centuries-old murmuring,” Eco writes, “an imperceptible dialogue between one parchment and another, a living thing, a receptacle of powers not to be ruled by a human mind, a treasure of secrets emanated by many minds, surviving the death of those who had produced them or had been their conveyors.”

After a day of getting my social networking sites up to date and sorting my ever building “To-Do” list, I received an email from a very nice person (whom I only know via these online networking sites) with an invitation to one of his talks in Trinity, only available on special invite!

To say I am chuffed is an understatement, as the semester flies on, and we are being encouraged to build and search for other people’s ideas and blogs and network your way around the world, I did think it very daunting experience, so this nice invite has really given me the confidence to keep going and find people who normally I would think outside my circle.

It is also very addictive, I would normally do college work all day on a Friday and in between readings, notes etc, I would “take a break” and go online, Facebook, Twitter, etc, now it’s part of my college work a constant up date of who’s who and links that just keep on adding up.

A classmate introduced me to “Web note” and an addition on it is you can track and keep all the websites you like, similar to bookmarking, already I have 50 with various tags attached!! I think I am getting the drift!!!

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Place

  1. Reblogged this on Contemporary Issues in Professional Practice and commented:
    A fun post from Siobhan in which she reflects on the beginnings of her Personal Learning Network…

  2. Woo-hoo, Siobhan! Way to get that PLN rolling. I hope you keep engaging and enjoying.

Leave a Reply

