The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

My hometown “The Déise”

1 Comment

images

I came home this weekend for my Mother’s birthday,  so to incorporate my college work with family time,  I tweeted one of the librarians in the Central Library to say I shall grace them with my presence in order to get some work done.

I did my Internship with the various Library branches of Waterford and I cannot put into words how encouraging and engaging they were in helping me start my journey towards a Masters in Library and Information Studies.

So, I was informed that the Waterford Writers Weekend is taking place, and the library may be a bit too busy for me to concentrate, now I am just going to have to see what this weekend has in store.

To my delight there is a talk being held in the Medieval Museum titled “To Blog or  not to Blog”, excited was not the word to describe how I felt when I saw this. So I registered straight away.

The event was a delight, it included Anne CareyMark Graham , and Hazel Gaynor they gave their own thoughts and reflections  on why to  blog and amazing advice on what to do as a potential blogger.

Mark Graham was so honest it made the event very engaging, and funny, I could really relate to the way he proposed to use social media tools as a “toolbox” that you take these tools and use them to build and renew the idea you have and tunnel these opinions and passions through your blog.

The weekend has been insightful and encouraging via professionals, family and friends. I have converted many friends to join Twitter and engage with the conversations that do take place on a regular basis, as my friends are Teachers they are the people I feel we as Librarians need to engage with to raise the platform of our skills and reach out to other professions in order to show us, as Librarians off.

I look forward to the Library Association of Ireland’s conference next month our own head librarian in Waterford is now President of the LAI and it is a privilege to say that I have worked for her and her staff.

Thank You Waterford for a wonderful weekend.

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

One thought on “My hometown “The Déise”

  1. Thanks for the follow and the nice comments Siobhan. Much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

