The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

The pressure is on I have been nominated!

3 Comments

After nearly 2 months of not paying any attention to my beautiful blog that I adore and not paying attention to anything in the world of libraries that I love because I have been super busy (any excuse), I have returned because a very special person in the world of libraries Helen Kielt has nominated myself and a few others in this new project.  Here she has set a jumping off point for all of us with a few questions, so it is going to be a nice way to reflect after being away for a while.

So as I am a bit shy (ha ha) I waited until someone else took the plunge to answer these questions, and of course another twitter and info superpower Roy Murray started the ball rolling. I just want to first of all say a massive thank you to all of my  library friends that I know via twitter or college, the amount of information that we produce and share between us on a daily basis is an extraordinary way of collaborating and integrating, may it continue and prosper.

So the following questions start with:

1. How do you think blogging has benefited your personal/professional development?

I always thought I really should start a blog, and these thoughts would have popped up (light bulb moment) as I scratched my head through Sociology modules trying to figure out what the hell my lecture was on about, or through mind blowing political strategies like “Game Theory”. Looking back it really was that sense of reflection that I needed. But once I looked into it I had no idea what to write and second I thought once I have written it what good is it going to be? So when I entered the MLIS and I saw that one of the modules offered incorporated setting up and managing a blog, I jumped at the chance.  The management class was set up in a way that you read the readings prescribed every week and you wrote your blog post reflecting on these reading, your thoughts, your challenges, your opinions. I never once thought that writing something down and conversing through twitter or blogging would ever change my life, but it did. Looking back I did not think too much about it, and I just ran with it and typed as I thought, I did not want to have the academic link to my opinions and I wanted the blog to eventually become part of me, and reflect me as a person. I think when people read other blogs that for you to be interested in that person there has to be a sense of that person behind the words on screen. So through blogging I have gained a confidence in myself that looking back on I was searching for for a very long time, I would never be the one to engage in debate, and going back to college as a Mature student and undertaking a Sociology and Politics degree pushed every boundary that I had, yet it still was not enough. It is not the animosity of blogging, as I would have no problem tweeting my posts and looking at the feedback, it is the process of sitting down and having a topic and giving your thoughts and information to a wider audience and getting feedback about the information contained and/or your ideas that feels really good.

2. What is the most recent book you have read?

I have recently finished Colum McCann’s new book “Transatlantic”. I fell in love with his writing when “Let the Great World Spin” came out, it was the first of his books that I read and then I could not get enough, as I worked my way back through his storytelling I was fascinated by the threads and poetic stance to his sentences and how he can make words and people become so vivid in one’s mind. With “Transatlantic” I was so nervous reading it, as with so many authors once they have a big seller they need to up their game again and sometimes it can be a failure, “Transatlantic” is not by any means a failure however it does take McCann out of his previous comfort zone, he tells a tale that spans four generations and the book is bound together by the tiny thread of a letter, he mixes aviation with war and war with love and love with death and death with hope all in one story but with a mix of people that hold all these pieces in their hands without them even realising it and when you do sit back and go ” I wonder” you find yourself searching to see if all he says is true. In some parts it does ring true, no author would be as clever or silly whatever way you want to look at it as to tell the whole truth, leaving the mystery in it is what life is all about! It truly is a good read.

3. Describe yourself in three words.

Lovable, Honest, Colourful.

4. Who inspires you (in library land or otherwise)?

This is a tough one, I suppose it is all the authors I truly love as I love fiction, they give the mind space to imagine, and this reminds me of being a kid. I struggled a lot in school because I daydreamed a lot about the books I was reading but because I was a social kid I integrated and made friends so reading was done at home and then school bored me so all the teachers just thought I was not interested, and I just plodded along through school. It is only now and after meeting my partner (who encouraged me to go back to college) that I can understand what happened but now only embrace my love of reading.

5. Quote a line from a piece of prose/poetry that you love.

Where do I start?

“In reality, every reader, while reading, is the reader of his own self. The writer’s work is merely a kind of optical instrument, which he offers to the reader to permit him to discern what, without the book, he would perhaps never have seen in himself. The reader’s recognition in his own self of what the book says is the proof of its truth” by Marcel Proust.

6. If you could live for a time within any novel which would it be?

Where do I start?

mr-gallianos-circusI don’t know if it counts as a novel, but my earliest love and my most cherished time is reading Mr Galliano’s Circus, as a kid the circus would set up camp in the pitch across the road from my house so this book I read every summer and everytime the circus left I really thought I would be going to! So maybe as an adult I would not pick this but it really brings back so many memories good and sad 🙂

7. What is your biggest ambition?

To be a librarian and providing information to everyone who needs it. Also working and collaborating with a community and/or educational support to expand people’s learning abilities and to focus on people and teach them that they have the ability to expand their knowledge and learning but have never known how or why they should expand this knowledge pool would really make my dreams come true.

8. Who would play you in a movie about your life?

A female version of Dylan Moran (yes he also needs a lot of acting classes and yes he needs to be a women)

9. What song(s) would be on the soundtrack to that movie?

Tom Petty: Runnin Down A Dream

Eagles: Hotel California

Fleetwood Mac: You make lovin fun

Snoop Dogg: Drop it like it’s hot

Whitney Houston: I wanna dance with somebody

Dirty Dancing: The time of my life

10. Where are you most likely to be found on a day off?

If it is the same day off as with my partner we will be in the pub, if not I will be at home waiting for him to finish work so we can go to the pub, or I will have opened a bottle of wine pretending he is here and I will be making dinner for both of us so we can go to the pub.

11. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve heard?

Take baby steps, we will get there eventually! (Six years later and we have made giant leaps together!)

Thanks Helen this has been great I hope you enjoy!

 

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

3 thoughts on “The pressure is on I have been nominated!

  1. Info superpower? Ah here….You will have PRISM after me.

  2. Love every bit of this Siobhan 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

