The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

Intro to Hyperlinked Library MOOC

Leave a comment

New Focus & New Goals

This new forward looking vision of libraries has stirred  something in me that I can’t really explain. So here I will try, firstly it sums up everything I have learned during my MLIS and from this I developed my own opinions and ideas of what I feel libraries can do, with my main focus on Public libraries within Ireland.

Michael Stephen’s (the main man) has grounded his vision in David Weinberger’s “The Hyperlinked Organisation” which details in general how the internet has changed the face of society through communication, business, networks etc.

Stephen’s (2013) has taken how the internet changed the face of society, here he looked at these changes through the lens of libraries to see how librarians can adapt and use these ideas to evolve. To begin the process in adapting the traditional face of libraries into a modern network of learning and creating he created “The Hyperlinked Library”.

As part of the MOOC Michael produced a introductory module with his fellow colleague Michael Casey and if this is the starting point for the MOOC I am thrilled!!!

Here they speak of Participatory Leadership within libraries, how to engage a library & community into various elements of how the library is maintained, this can be done at a minimum level or full scale, however what Stephen’s & Casey (2013) are hoping to promote is how new tools that have been created by the internet can allow libraries and communities to come together and create a forum that will be creative, knowledgeable and progressive.

This idea really excites me as it has been a topic that I have been privy to when developing my thesis for the MLIS and the many thoughts that were provided by public librarians around Ireland have been slightly worrying to me. In addition just recently I listened to a documentary on a national radio station and was very disheartened when I heard one librarian say that because of the advancement in technology that libraries will not be in existence in 20 years to come!

So here is where I start talking and I hope everyone else will engage in this conversation, it is only us LIBRARIANS that can keep libraries open and progressive and in order to do this ALL LIBRARIANS need to be on the same page even if they cannot see the light or the hope at least participate in some forward thinking!

Part 2:

Just a quick note on why I love Information and Learning! I have just finished my MLIS and my favourite module was Information Behaviour!

To be able to comprehend a task, one needs to take the pieces within the task and separate them. You need to look at these pieces individually and see the many webs that are formed and realign with your original task.

Information Behaviour is one topic like this, it has many tangents to it.

This particular one is how you could study people who interact with information.

So many things need to be asked:

Has the person being given this information or sourced it themselves?

The level of knowledge the person has with this piece of Information.

The context the person is in: home, library, public space with own device?

Is the person seeking this information on their own, for their own project or is it part of a group, are they in contact with the group while searching this information, via a wiki spaces or a blog?

The way the information is being retrieved, books, journals, online sources. Is the source they are using first hand and related to the information or second, as this will devalue the content and probably the end result if  given to another colleague.

When all this is thought of, there are 3 factors that I see has a major effect on when I search for information…

Time, do I have an hour, or can I do it at my leisure?

Interest, this can be related to a module I am taking at the moment, I will only take part in the tests, and lectures because I will benefit, however I have zero interest, which links to the amount of time I give to the weekly tasks.

Type of information, for instance mathematical stuff!!! which has no place within my brain so I instantly recoil, shiver and freeze when I have to make sense of it!!

These are the things to look to when you want to find how they interact, observing can work, however it is very general way of seeing how people interact with information.

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

