The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

Workplace Behaviour and Taking Risks

Leave a comment

 

workplaceThe following article in Entrepreneur  really made me sit and think about how to reflect on behaviour.

Behaviour within the workplace is crucial, I am very aware of people and I have always had a good sense of what you do and don’t do in the workplace.

At the top of my list is time keeping, it annoys me to death when people show up late to work. I find it is very ignorant to your boss and to your colleagues. having bad time keeping skills says a lot about you as a person. For instance, your not organised, and you don’t take into context how other colleagues may have to wait for your arrival in order to answer a query. This is not good team management.

Going beyond the call of duty. This is my inner self going “I did it”. When you notice that people around you need help and you have the time to give it to them, just do it. Recently I was in a position to give my skills to three or four projects outside of my remit as an intern. In doing this, the opportunities it has afforded me are second to none, Many reasons for this include;

  • I got to know other colleagues better.
  • They got to understand my interests and opinions of various projects.
  • I learned from them.
  • I got to know and understand the organisation, the history, the who’s who, (and a little bit of gossip).
  • They got to understand me and my profession better.

Networking, making yourself known and going to work events, are also super important. To look at other organisations that are similar to yours and see their challenges and opportunities is a great discussion to have, especially over a team building exercise. These events give you space to create a conversation that you will be remembered, especially by the boss or HR.

Taking risks is nerve racking, I am contemplating setting goals for 2016 and I really want to push myself. Doing things that I am not sure I will succeed in is so far out of my comfort zone that I might as well be jumping out of a plane. Saying that, I have time, I can do research to help me make that decision, I have people I can call on for advice. I can find ways to handle these things that right now I may not know how to do, I just need to believe in myself and encourage myself. This is my time, and I will succeed.

Good behaviour and the right attitude will keep me on the path to success.

 

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

