The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

Exploring this wonderful January

1 Comment

January is a wonderful month, you get to make all these brilliant resolutions and promises to yourself. 🙄🙄🙄

We make the most of the dreary dark mornings and miserable late evenings, and we do this by making sure we stay positive and keep our energy up so we don’t go running for the large bar of chocolate!

It’s nearly over this wonderful month and I am only now getting around to writing my first blog post of 2016!!! Go me!!!

The topic on todays list is understanding.

Understanding what I do BAD!! I recently purchased Gretchen Rubin’s book, Better than Before. I am a person who has no habits, until I have to have them. Like getting up at 7am Monday to Friday because I’ve a place to go, a thing called a job!! Which at the moment I don’t have!

I did not really develop habits because my 20’s involved working in the hospitality industry which is everything the opposite of habit building. You cannot make your life into a beautiful routine because your rota will change and sometimes change daily!

Now I desperately want habits. This is the year I will make this work. And off I go!!!

What I have learned so far is I’m very easily distracted, like a child I want to do everything for five mins and then go no I’m bored now!!

Gretchen’s book has allowed me to understand there is nothing wrong with this, it’s part of my personality and traits and I need to know these if I want to change them. It’s very reassuring to know that I can work on these and over time it will take hold.

A few habits have been in action for this month, and it’s thrilling to me to see the outcomes.

Some of the questions I ask myself on a daily basis, maybe more than once involve: Why do I procrastinate? What holds me back? Am I scared? What do I fear?

As I begin to think deeper about these questions the only answer I can come up with is, how do you know the answer when you have not actually done it! So do it and then go back to the questions!

I fear public speaking apart from college I’ve not done it professionally! To figure out why I fear this, I am challenging myself mind and body to present this year at a conference! It’s been a challenge my mind is struggling with the concept that it will do this, my body won’t start rejecting this idea until the day of the presentation, but it’s all about understanding the why!

Onwards I go!

 

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

One thought on “Exploring this wonderful January

  1. Pingback: February: Spring and Sunshine! | A Library Bubble

Leave a Reply

