The Casual Librarian

My thoughts and opinions

April Showers

3 Comments

Hi, Everyone!

Reflecting back over the last 3 months, I am very happy with my achievements every month.

However, Job searching can be very draining. I find writing these blog posts help me look back over the goals I have set myself. The good news is I got a part time job as a Research Assistant with Waterford Institute of Technology which I begin next Monday.

Saying that, I am very interested in the goals I didn’t achieve, I like to sit down and ask myself, “Why didn’t you follow through with this”?

You need to stay real, and I can honestly say it is because I turned my focus to something that in the long run has helped win me an award!

SLA’s LMD Divison (if you don’t know it check it out) have a career advancement award every year, so with the encouragement of my mentor, I set about to create my application.

I was thrilled to begin this as it brought together a lot of ideas I had floating around for some time now. Watch this space!

Also, one of my main aims this year is to do as much public speaking as I can, and I can safely say I love it, I spoke at a family wedding, I joined a writing class and stood up in front of a crowd of strangers and read my material.

From there my writing class got invited to two events in Waterford and again I spoke to a crowd of strangers and showed my material!

I have finished reading Chapter two of the Organised Mind, however, I do need to write up a blog post.

Data Protection and Privacy I had to sideline, however now the Law Society if Ireland started a MOOC, and I am currently looking at Module 1 so will reflect on this come the end of the week.

I shall be very busy this month, however, I do plan to keep this blog even more active as I will have lots to share with you all!

journey

Author: siobhanmac

Loves Libraries, Books, and Sunshine!

3 thoughts on “April Showers

  1. I really need to follow your example and push myself to do some public speaking. The thought of it alone makes me nervous.

    • Hi Shona, it is nerve wrecking I agree, and anyone you speak to will tell you this.
      I just learned a few tips from people along the way, I read Sheryl Sandberg’s book Lean In if you can get your hands on it read it. Also, I came across Amy Cuddy’s Ted Talk and Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book Big Magic is also very inspiring.
      From these books, I kept asking myself “What would I do if I was not afraid”? Don’t let it hold you back, fear is not a good friend to get to know.

Leave a Reply

