Déise Librarian

No More Rejection Eight Years Later

Leave a comment

Looking back over the previous post from 2016, I was very very kind to myself. I am very glad I was and I wish I had reminded myself of those lovely words everyday.

What I have learned and it is a tough lesson no doubt about it, but rejection has to be made as a time to reflect not a time to beat yourself up. I really genuinely believe it is the world telling you “it is not your time yet, hold on”.

Over the past 8 years, since I completed my Masters in Library & Information Studies, I have seen my fair of rejection. In some cases it wasn’t even a “sorry we regret to inform you” it was “you don’t have enough experience warranted for this post” or when faced with a psychometric test ” you have not reached the required qualifying standard”.

All of these are just different ways (for me consistently) of the universe saying to me; stay going, don’t loose faith.

As I grew in confidence over the years, and found the correction experience I needed and more importantly found the mentors and leaders to support me, I began to achieve, but always falling at the last hurdle. Coming 2nd, 3rd, 4th on panels, and hearing nothing. It is soul destroying. But again if I listened I could hear the universe whisper, “what is meant to be won’t pass you by”.

And it is true, take it from me it is true, because I finally got there, and no I didn’t come 1st. But more importantly I know I am ready, I am more than ready, I am able, I am confident, I am eager, I am willing. The most amazing part of all this is I know I am going to be my very best at this job, and I will give it my all.

Just keep going.

Author: siobhanmac

Public Librarian. From Waterford, Living in Louth.

Leave a comment